The way to get results…

April 13, 2006 at 1:59 am (Out of Context)

The other day I was at a BBQ at a friend's house, one of only two in attendance that didn't go to high-school or college together. The grill had been fired up and the host had offered it up to anyone who wanted to grill their own items.

Best Buddy X decided to take on grilling the Portabello mushroom caps for those who were vegetarians; however, he was a carnivore and had never grilled these before. "I've never cooked these before," he shouted to the slightly inebriated group, "what do I do?"

Because I have a sick need to prove I have some form of knowledge stored in my gray matter, I answered, "They're supposed to cook up just like hamburgers. Throw them on and let 'em cook." I followed up that assured comment with, "However, I've only READ that – I've never DONE it. Don't take my word for it."

Best Buddy X started laying the caps on the grill when I realized that perhaps there's a test case to be made. I shouted, "Maybe just cook one for now to see if it works before you do them all?" To which I received the following response:

"To get results, you need to repeat the experiment. I'm repeating the experiment… just all at once."

Leave a Reply

