Greatness: “Thank You for Smoking”

April 8, 2006 at 2:56 pm (Culture)

"When someone tries to act like some sort of expert, you can respond, 'who says?'" (Aaron Eckhart as Nick Naylor in "Thank You for Smoking") I'm no expert, but that is one of the many great lines in the film.

Last night I nearly succombed to the comfort of my oh-so-supple leather recliner; it was a fight to convince myself that I needed to keep my plans to head to Uptown Dallas to catch the flick and not just fall asleep in front of the television.

I couldn't be happier with my decision. "Thank You for Smoking" is among the funniest, wittiest, and most clever films I have ever seen. What struck me is… though the topic is to satirically portray big tobacco and their interests it actually has a deeper message.

Nick Naylor is the spokesperson – Spin Doctor – for the "American Institute for Tobacco Studies" (or something like that). He is a master at argument and spin; but he's also divorced with a pre-teen son and wants to be a better father. Hint: that's there the core message lies. I won't give too much away since the movie is still fresh in theatres. What I will do is recommend this movie highly – HIGHLY – to anyone who wants to laugh at some clever 'spin' for 90 minutes and come away with some great quotes with which you can impress your friends.

Film's website here

Leave a Reply

